photo nawboBy Rieva Lesonsky

The NAWBO/Wells Fargo Trailblazer Award was launched in 2002 to recognize the talent, drive and innovation of women business owners nationwide and to honor women entrepreneurs’ role in the American economy. Do you have what it takes to be the next Trailblazer Award recipient–or do you know a woman entrepreneur who does?

NAWBO and Wells Fargo will recognize outstanding women-owned businesses will be recognized for their trailblazing spirit as demonstrated by their companies’ business performance, innovation, growth and contribution to the community. Each winning business will receive a cash grant of $5,000, gain nationwide recognition, and be honored at the NAWBO Women’s Business Conference 2010 in Washington, D.C.

To be considered, women business owners must have built successful businesses with unique products, services or delivery channels and be role models for others. They must be able to explain how their business reflects their vision and commitment to making a difference in the community.

To be considered, you must also:
• Be at least 18 years of age
• Be a woman who owns at least 51% and is an active principal of the business
• Own the business for at least three (3) years
• Be a legal resident of the United States or its territories
• Be in compliance with all applicable laws/regulations

You can apply online or by mail;  the deadline is February 19, so don’t wait. For more information, visit NAWBO’s Web site.